My 2015 Printable Rainbow Daily Planner

Today I’d like to introduce my new daily planner!

Please excuse the poor quality photos – the colours are actually much brighter in person!

rainbow planner cover 1

I. Am. OBSESSED with it! I created the whole planner from scratch (well, except the arc notebook I used to assemble it of course). The planner pages are 8.5 x 11″ in size. I know a lot of people prefer the smaller planner sizes but portability and compactibility isn’t an issue for me as I carry a large handbag. I’ll discuss printing options if you’d like to use the pages in an A5, half size or filofax planner at the bottom of this post.

One of the most important things about a planner is its’ pretty cover page! I am OBSESSED with pretty cover pages. Every binder I use has to have a cover page. I created one cover for the planner then came up with ideas for another cover. And another one. I ended up with about 15 covers before I finally gained some self-control. I get bored with covers easily so I intend to use a different one each month. This is the one I am currently using:

Rainbow Planner AllAboutTheHouse

I’ve listed all the other covers in my Etsy shop if you’re a cover addict like me. These covers are personalised with your monogram and/or other wording that you would like. Due to customisation these are sent within 48hours of your purchase.

Planner Cover Options - Rainbow

Planner Cover Options - Rainbow Chevron

These covers are an instant download so you can use them right away!

Planner Cover Options - Rainbow - Instant

chevron pink planner cover

polka dot planner cover

You could also pair the planner with one of my other binder covers

Let’s take a tour of my planner!

After the cover page is the ‘this belongs to page’ in case my planner ever gets lost.

Belongs to rainbow planner

Followed by the 2014 and 2015 dates at a glance pages (with space tor record those new years resolutions/goals that I’m going to try and accomplish)

I forget to take photos of these pages in my assembled planner.

2015 Calendar

2015 Calendar Printable

Then the ‘special dates’ page where I list national holidays for 2014 , 2015 and 2016. This sheet is not pre-filled so you could live anywhere in the world and still use this planner! I live in Australia which is why this page is not pre-filled with American holidays. You can find a summary of national holidays relevant to your country on this website

special important rainbow

Important dates where I list birthday’s, anniversaries ect. You could also use it for annual planning.

important dates rainbow planner printable

 

FOR EACH MONTH

Monthly divider (I recommend printing single sided onto cardstock. I use this brand).

monthly divider printable planner

Monthly planning page

monthly planning rainbow

2 page monthly calendar spread

Printable day planner monthly calendar

An undated editable version is also available.

Rainbow 2015 calendar

Notes

Rainbow note paper

Daily and/or weekly planning pages – I have created 3 different weekly spreads.

Meal planning & checklist

Rainbow Planner AllAboutTheHouse 2

Checklist

rainbow checklist undated

This is the weekly spread that I personally use. I am obsessed with lists so this layout has been working perfectly for me!

The ‘simple‘ version where you can make it your own e.g. add lines across the page to separate each column into boxes to separate things like school, work, social, reminders, meal planning ect. Or just keep the columns blank with lots of open-ended writing space

Rainbow simple planner

For those who prefer to have one page for each day:

Daily Planner 2014 2015

Daily planner printable

I also have an undated (and editable!) version. I use this on days where I need to get a lot done and I want to map out exactly how I will use my time. I call this the ‘schedule’ planning method (rather than the open-ended weekly pages). There are 2 lines beside each hour – one line per 30 minutes of the day. I print a few off and keep them at the back of the planner then transfer them to the current week when I need them.

Rainbow daily undated

Wondering what that un-labelled box is for? Anything! After designing and using many daily planners I have found that I needed a section that was flexible. Some days I use this box to record my exercise plan, on other days I use it for reminders or calls I need to make. I also like having a large notes section so I can jot down messages when I’m on the phone. I used to scramble around for a piece of paper which I then couldn’t find a few days later. This way I can keep everything in order 🙂 The meals box is big enough to plan all daily meals or just dinner and a few things I need to pick up from the store on my way home.

After all the months, I include extra notes pages as well as pages you can purchase separately from the ‘Extra’s package.’ I store these pages behind the ‘Miscellaneous’ divider (which comes with the planner).

Binder cover divider printable

Editable Meal Planner & Grocery List

Weekly Menu Planner - Rainbow

You can also print 2 copies of the 1 sheet onto a single page (see below). For instructions on how to do this see here

Meal Planning - Rainbow Planner A5

Password Log

Password printable rainbow

To do checklist

Rainbow To Do Checklist

Contacts

Contacts Rainbow Planner

Weekly Planning page. I keep this at the back and use it to note routine things that need to be completed each day (or most days of the week). I am considering moving it to the front of the planner.

Weekly Planning - Rainbow Planner

Extra notes pages

rainbow stripe notes page

Calendar stickers

cal sticker

I LOVE calendar stickers but they are very hard to find in Australia so I made my own. Because I am obsessed with things being coordinated I used the same colours as the rainbow stripe pattern on the planner. I made my own template in photoshop and printed the 6 sheets onto full sheet 8.5 x 11″ label paper then cut using a guillotine (you could also use a paper trimmer or scissors). I keep them in a clip top bag in the ziplock pouch I also purchased for the back of the planner.

Money Stickers

Calendar Stickers Printable - Rainbow

The colours do actually print that nice and bright. The photos makes them look much darker than they actually are!

cal sticker 7

Events Stickers

Rainbow Calendar Stickers

event calendar stickers

School Stickers

Printable school stickers

school stickers 6

Number Stickers

number sticker printable

number stickers2

Home/Maintenance Stickers

Calendar Stickers Printable 9

cal sticker 9

Medical Stickers

Calendar stickers day planner

cal sticker 2

 

UPDATE: I have become a sticker addict in the past few months. You can shop all available stickers in the online store and on Etsy.

I bought these pockets to keep random papers in. E.g. if I get the mail on my way out the door I will tuck it in these pockets and take them out when I get home.

Back cover (should you choose to have your planner spiral bound or use it in a binder)

Rainbow Planner Back Cover

Rainbow Planner Cover Printable

If you’re concerned about printer ink, here are how some of the pages look printed in greyscale:

Daily Planner Printable Rainbow

Daily planner editable stripe

Still quite pretty!

HOW I ORGANISE MY PLANNER

1. Colour code. I write everything in my planner in black pen. I don’t use a special brand of pen. I use cheap ones from discount stores like the Reject Shop and Crazy Clark’s. I live in Australia so I don’t have access to Walmart :(. I then highlight each ‘thing’ in my planner in a different colour. For example: yellow is Etsy, pink is personal, green is appointments and social events, purple is to do’s, orange is family and light blue is finances. When I was in school I used to use different colours for homework, assessment due dates ect.

2. Calendar Stickers (which I mentioned above). They’re rainbow and co-ordinate with my planner – nuff said 🙂

HOW I USE MY PLANNER

1. I write things like when bills are due in the monthly view. I also note any appointments and social events. I try to minimise what I write in the monthly view to prevent it from being over-cluttered. One of the reasons I use a full-size planner is because of the large writing space in the monthly view. I have used smaller planners before and found I filled the little boxes too quickly. I also cannot stand trying to write something into a planner and not having the page to lean my hand against as I enter a task (hopefully you understand what I mean, I know I didn’t explain that very clearly :/)

2. The weekly views show each day in more detail. Occasionally I review my ‘master’ to do list which I keep in my lists book. I shared some pictures of it at the bottom of this post. Basically I printed off all the sheets from my lists kit and bound them into a notebook.

Anyway, in the lists book I have monthly to do lists. At the start of the year I list things I’d like to complete for each month (personal, work – everything) and stop about 5 lines short of the bottom of the page (gotta keep room for ideas that pop up throughout the year!) Each month I pick out the main to do’s and fill the first monthly to do list column in the planner (on the monthly planning page).  I keep the second column free for to do’s I think of throughout the month. So basically the lists book is a ‘reference’ and my planner summarises those lists.

I’ll pick a few of the monthly to do’s in my planner that I feel are the highest priority. I transfer tasks that need to occur to complete each of those to do’s to the weekly pages of my planner. For example, if I am working on a new planner set then I will break the planner down into smaller to do’s and allocate those throughout the weeks of the month. I write these steps in the unlined section of each day. I keep the checklists for routine tasks such as laundry, grocery shopping, emptying the dishwasher, de-cluttering ect.

The reason I love the layout of the weekly pages is because they are simple, uncluttered, flexible and don’t have too much colour. I do love a bit of colour (hence the rainbow stripe), but because I highlight/colour-code my planner I kept it to black only below the pattern. I don’t like planners that include mini monthly views on each weekly spread as I find this a massive waste of space. I rarely need to know what day a certain date falls on and if I do I have the monthly summary pages and the dates at a glance places to refer to.

I do use tabs as you can see in the pictures. I purchased these from Staples. They were pre hole punched for a 3 ring binder but I punched over the top – they are made of a plastic-like material so they still stay in place in the Arc notebook. I am on the lookout for nicer tabs because I’d prefer them to be thicker like cardstock. If anyone knows of any good tabs please let me know!

So that’s my planner! If anyone has any questions or comments I’d love to hear from you 🙂

***PRINTING YOUR PLANNER***

The pages are 8.5 x 11″ in size. They will work with printers that CAN do duplex printing and also printers that CANNOT do duplex printing. Detailed printing instructions are included in your purchase. As all printers are different, I cannot offer technical support for printing. No refunds will be made if you are unable to print the pages due to your printer having different settings than shown in the example/if you do not know how to use your printer. If you are having problems printing your planner at home, I recommend printing at your local office supply store.

If you want to use the pages in an A5/Filofax/half size planner you can by using ‘2 per page’ or ‘multiple’ print settings and then cut the 8.5 x 11″ sheet in half. However, they will be single-sided.

If you would like to use the planner pages in a personal or smaller than half size planner I do not recommend doing this. You can print any page at any size (smaller than 8.5 x 11″). See this post on printing tips for instructions (tip 2). The reason I do not recommend this is because you will need to cut every sheet down to size.

As a side note – a coupon is included in the printing instructions document which you can use on all future purchases until the end of 2015!

***PLANNER SOURCE LIST***

Arc punch (I’ve read that the Levenger punch is compatible)

Pink Arc notebook (A4 size)

A5 zip pockets they also have A4 size 

A4 Pockets

They have lots of other fun extras you can add like business card holder

By the way, I am in no way affiliated with Staples or this brand I just like their products 🙂

***LET’S GO SHOPPING!***

Do you think this planner would work for you? Great! Click the links below to start shopping 🙂

PLANNERS

Rainbow ‘simple’ version

Rainbow ‘checklist’ version

Rainbow ‘meal planning & checklist’ version

Day to a page

2 Page Monthly Calendar

Printable day planner monthly calendar

Undated 2 page monthly calendar

Editable monthly calendar printable

Undated daily planning page

Undated Landscape calendar

COVERS

6 Instant download planner covers

Personalised Planner Covers

ADD ONS

Matching Rainbow Calendar Stickers

Printable Calendar Stickers

– Rainbow Extras

Contacts page

Contacts Printable Rainbow

Meal Planning & Grocery List

Meal Plan, Grocery List Printable Rainbow

To Do Checklist 

To Do List - 8,5 - rainbow

Password Log

Password Log Printable - Rainbow

Weekly Planning Page

Planner - Weekly Planning 8,5 - R

Notes Page

Notes page - Lined - Rainbow

RAINBOW SIMPLE PLANNER

Rainbow Planner 2014 - 2015 Simple (3)

Mar 2014 – Jun 2015

academic planner 2014 2015 printable

Mar 2014 – Dec 2015

Personalised printable planner 2015 2014

Jan 2015 – Dec 2015

2015 simple planner printable

RAINBOW CHECKLIST PLANNER

2015 checklist planner printable

Mar 2014 – Jun 2015

rainbow planner printable checklist

Mar 2014 – Dec 2015

rainbow printable planner checklist diary

Jan 2015 – Dec 2015

2015 checklist planner (2)

RAINBOW MEAL PLANNING & CHECKLIST PLANNER

2014 2015 meal planner checklist

Mar 2014 – July 2015

MP checklist 2014 - 2014 planner

Mar 2014 – Dec 2015

meal Planning checklist planner

Jan 2015 – Dec 2015

2015 planner personalised rainbow

DAY-TO-A-PAGE PLANNER

Day to a page planner 2014 2015 (2)

Mar 2014 – July 2015

Day to a page planner 12 month

Mar 2014 – Dec 2015

Day to a page planner

Jan 2015 – Dec 2015

2015 day to a page planner

***WANT TO GET A FREE PLANNER?***

Do you have a blog? Want to get this planner for free in exchange for a review? Convo me via Etsy or send an email to allaboutthehouseetsy@yahoo.com.au  If I think your blog is a good fit – I will send you a copy of the planner of your choice for FREE!

***HAVE YOU DISCOVERED AN ERROR?***

I have checked each page however, if you happen to spot an error, please bring it to my attention so I can fix it ASAP.

Leave a comment